Dealing with traffic jams and steering clear of crazy California drivers can take all of your attention when traveling the freeways. Believe it or not, there are thousands of California traffic laws that are meant to keep you safe.
In the rush of traffic, it can be hard to believe that any laws exist, but when accidents occur, these laws can hold a reckless driver fully responsible for the consequences.
You may think you know all of the traffic codes and statutes, but even safe drivers may be surprised by a few laws they didn’t know were on the books.
California Driving Laws Quiz
Cautious driving along California boulevards is just one part of keeping your passengers and everyone else on the road safe. A strong grasp of local traffic laws is also a key factor in showing a “duty of care” to other drivers and avoiding common mistakes.
Take this simple test on California traffic codes to see if you are being as safe as possible behind the wheel:
According to the DMV California Driver Handbook, the maximum speed on a two-lane undivided highway is 55 mph.
The speed limit in any alley in California is 15 mph.
You are only allowed to go 10mph when passing a city bus according to the handbook.
There are a few exceptions but generally, drivers and cyclists must not wear earphones or earplugs in both ears at once. California Vehicle Code 27400 states: “A person operating a motor vehicle or bicycle may not wear a headset covering, earplugs in, or earphones covering, resting on, or inserted in, both ears.”
A new law for 2023 allows law enforcement to ask the CHP to trigger something called a “Yellow Alert” after a fatal hit-and-run accident. NBC San Diego reported on the tool that alerts motorists to be on the lookout for a hit-and-run suspect.
This is an important question because California drivers must to slow down and yield to all pedestrians at marked and unmarked crosswalks. According to the DMV handbook, “a pedestrian is a person on foot or who uses a conveyance such as roller skates, skateboard, etc., other than a bicycle. A pedestrian can also be a person with a disability using a tricycle, quadricycle, or wheelchair for transportation.”
No. In California, you are not required to stop or report an accident you witness but are not a part of. It’s up to you if you decide to stop to render aid to potential victims or assist investigators in determining what happened.
Yes. According to California Vehicle Code 22400, “No person shall drive upon a highway at such a slow speed as to impede or block the normal and reasonable movement of traffic unless the reduced speed is necessary for safe operation, because of a grade, or in compliance with law.”
Yes. Also according to Vehicle Code 22400, “No person shall bring a vehicle to a complete stop upon a highway so as to impede or block the normal and reasonable movement of traffic unless the stop is necessary for safe operation or in compliance with law.”
The driver’s first infraction for traveling this fast would result in a steep fine and the violator could get a suspended driver’s license. You will also get points on your license that can serve to revoke your license if you get too many points in a year. California Vehicle Code 22348 goes over the punishment. “Upon a first conviction of a violation of this subdivision, by a fine of not to exceed five hundred dollars ($500). The court may also suspend the privilege of the person to operate a motor vehicle for a period not to exceed 30 days pursuant to Section 13200.5.”
A word for California car collision victims injured in accidents…
Knowing every California vehicle code doesn’t mean you’ll stay accident-free. You can make a mistake, no matter how cautious you are. And the careless motorists on the roads with you might also make an error in judgment. Stick to following the laws as best you can, but when accidents do occur, you should be ready to protect yourself financially and know about the benefits available to you to help in recovery.
If you or a loved one are forced into a collision and suffer serious injuries, contact Maison Law’s California Car Accident Lawyers to get a free, no-obligation case consultation. This confidential case review is a no-risk way to determine what your injury is worth and how to demand full compensation from an unhelpful auto insurance company.