If you have been hurt in a California accident, you may be concerned about how long you have to wait until you receive your insurance settlement check. The bills may keep piling up, leaving you to feel stressed and confused. At Maison Law, we offer representation to those who have been hurt in life-altering California accidents. We will stand by your side as you navigate the legal system and negotiate with the insurance company for the best results. Please do not hesitate to contact us today for a no-obligation case consultation.
How Long the Insurance Has to Respond to You
The California Department of Insurance states that an insurance company is required to deny or settle a claim within 40 days of receiving proof of the claim in California. Insurance companies that receive documentation proving that a claim exists are supposed to settle the claim immediately but they have up to 40 days if needed. Here is what needs to happen, according to California law:
- The insurance company has 40 days to decide your claim from the time that they receive the proof of claim forms.
- The insurance company has to make a final payment within 30 days following the approval of your claim.
If you do not receive your payment within those 30 days after your claim is accepted, you have every right to file a bad faith claim against the insurance company. This means that an insurance company could have to pay penalty costs on top of your claim in full, which is why fast acting on their part is important.
If You Are Not Happy with the Insurer’s Decision
If you are not satisfied with the results of filing an insurance claim, especially in cases where your claim was wrongfully denied, you have the option to file a personal injury claim. Even though you would be faced with the other party’s insurance company once more, they might take your claim more seriously, especially with the help of a personal injury lawyer on your side.
If you decide to move forward with a claim, one of the most important aspects to keep in mind is that California has a strict statute of limitations in place. This means that you have two years from the time that you discover your injuries to file a claim until you are barred from doing so. It is crucial that you act quickly to protect your rights after an accident.
Should I Accept a Quick Offer from the Insurance Company?
Many individuals, including personal injury lawyers, are aware of the fact that insurance companies will typically make a low first settlement offer. They do this in the hopes that an injured party will accept the settlement and the insurance company will have to pay out very little for the claim.
It is important that you hold out for a better settlement offer even if the bills are piling up against you after an accident. The settlement offer they have initially laid on the table may be incredibly low and will not represent all of the losses you have incurred or expect to incur in the future. With the help of a personal injury lawyer, you can negotiate back and forth to receive the best offer that suits your needs.
Contact a California Personal Injury Lawyer Today
After any type of accident in California, you may be feeling confused about your next steps. Dealing with the insurance company can be a stressful time, which is why it is crucial that you understand where you can turn.
At Maison Law, our California personal injury lawyers are here for you after you have been seriously injured in any type of accident within the state. We will help you meet deadlines in your claim, as well as avoid any common mistakes as you deal with the insurance company and any at-fault parties. Please do not hesitate to contact us today for a completely free legal consultation regarding your claim.