Focused on getting our clients the compensation they need...

Tulare County Trauma Center Information

If you or a loved one has experienced a traumatic injury as the result of a car accident or another’s negligence, in addition to medical assistance, you will likely need legal assistance. While an attorney is not needed in every case, if serious injuries are involved, retaining a caring and vigilant attorney is going to benefit you not only financially but in a variety of ways. Contact us for a free, confidential consultation today.

Tulare County Trauma Center Information:

If you or a loved one has experienced a serious medical emergency, you might have gone to an emergency room, also known as a medical trauma center, for assistance. Below you will find information about what a trauma center is and where they can be found in the Tulare County area.

Visalia Trauma Centers

Note: The designations below are current as of May, 2019.

Tulare County has only one trauma center:

Kaweah Delta Medical Center
Level III Trauma Center
400 W. Mineral King Ave.
Visalia, CA 93291
(559) 624-2000

What is a Medial Trauma?

A medical trauma is when someone is experiencing a sudden onset of a physical injury with sufficient severity to require immediate medical attention. If someone experiencing a trauma doesn’t get medical attention quickly, the injury might cause systemic shock called “shock trauma” and may require immediate resuscitation and interventions to save life or limb.

There are certain common types of traumatic injuries that stem from an automobile accident and require a trip to a trauma center. Some of these are:

  • Traumatic brain injuries
  • Spinal cord injuries
  • Skull fractures
  • Collapsed lungs
  • Crush injuries
  • Burn injuries.

What is a Trauma Center?

Conventionally called emergency rooms, a Trauma Center is a medical care unit found in a licensed hospital. Each state has laws that designates the levels of each trauma center and outlines what is required to meet a certain level. Most states follow the same general designations so that there is uniformity in the meaning of the different levels of trauma care.

In California trauma centers are designated by a Local Emergency Medical Services Agency (LEMSA). At a minimum, a multidisciplinary trauma team and a basic emergency department. Some of the specially trained health care providers at trauma centers may include trauma surgeons, neurosurgeons, orthopedic surgeons, cardiac surgeons and radiologists.

Types of trauma centers in California

Like most states, California uses a level system to designate the type of trauma care available with each center. These are defined by the California Emergency Medical Services (EMSA).

  • Level I and level II trauma centers have similar medical professionals and resources with the greatest difference being that level I’s are research and teaching facilities.
  • Level III and level IV trauma centers generally provide initial stabilization of trauma patients. Some patients are transferred from Level III and IV to Level I & II when needed. Level III facilities generally have more advanced surgical capabilities than Level IV facilities.
  • Pediatric trauma centers focus specifically on pediatric trauma patients. The Level I pediatric centers require some additional pediatric specialties, research, and teaching responsibilities.

A comprehensive description of the CA’s trauma centers is available at the California Office of Statewide Planning and Development.

Call Now Button